What is the Sharingan in Naruto


The Sharingan (写 輪 眼, "Copy circle eye") is a Kekkei Genkai of the Dōjutsu category. It is one of the "Sandai Dōjutsu" (三大 瞳 術, "Three major pupil techniques") and will because of its diversity of skills "Tengan" (天 眼, "Celestial eye") called. The red and black irises are characteristic of this jutsu "Tomoe" (巴, Tomoe), which are arranged in a ring around the pupil.

Education and Appearance

The three forms of Sharingan

If an Uchiha feels strong feelings such as friendship or love for a person and this person is in a dangerous situation or has even been killed, the Uchiha brain releases a special chakra. This chakra affects the optic nerves and causes a change in the eyes of the Uchiha - the Sharingan. For this reason, Tobirama Senju also calls it that "The Heart Reflecting Eye" (心 を 写 す 瞳, "Kokoro o utsusu Hitomi").[2]

When the Sharingan is activated, the iris turns red and black drops are arranged in a circle around the pupil, the so-called "Tomoe". The number of tomoes during the first activation varies between wearers for unknown reasons; a total of three tomoes per eye can be achieved. The number of tomoe is an indicator of the strength of the eye's abilities. The name "Sharingan" probably comes from the fact that the sharingan's tomoe sometimes rotate when using genjutsu. When a living being is controlled with the Sharingan, the Sharingan with three tomoe also forms in its eye.[3] In addition, the Sharingan seems to glow in the dark.

There is a stronger form of Sharingan, the Mangekyō Sharingan (万 華 鏡 写 輪 眼, "Kaleidoscope copy circle eye"). This forms when a Sharingan wearer experiences trauma from the death of the person closest to them. Because of this, Uchiha often killed their friends and relatives in the past. However, it is not enough to watch the loved one kill or die, the Sharingan user must also feel the pain that comes with it. If he does not have a fully trained Sharingan beforehand, the missing Tomoe and then the Mangekyō Sharingan are formed first. The appearance of the eyes differs depending on the owner. While they give him access to a number of powerful jutsu, the use of the eyes is accompanied by blindness that can only be revised by employing the Mangekyō Sharingan of a close blood relative. This creates a Mangekyō Sharingan, the appearance of which is similar to a fusion of the two original Mangekyō Sharingan. This particular eye will "Eternal Mangekyō Sharingan" (永遠 の 万 華 鏡 写 輪 眼, "Eien no Mangekyō Sharingan") called.

Based on research, Orochimaru and Kabuto Yakushi hypothesized that the Rinnegan represents the apex of the Sharingan and can therefore arise from it as part of a natural evolution.[4] As it turns out, Madara Uchiha was the only person who was actually able to turn his Sharingan into the Rinnegan. For this to happen, however, the wearer, as the incarnation of Indra, must have his chakra and mix it with Ashura's chakra in order to receive the chakra of the Rikudō Sennin and thus awaken the Rinnegan. Madara used the cells of Hashirama Senju, the then incarnation of Ashura.[5]The awakening of Rinnegan also seems to be a lengthy process, so Madara only received this dojutsu in old age, shortly before his natural death.

How a shinobi receives Rinnegan has been written down together with other secrets by the Rikudō Sennin on the stone monument in Naka no Jinja. The Sharingan allows its wearer to decipher part of this text, an owner of the Mangekyō Sharingan can decipher another part and a wearer of the Rinnegan can decipher the entire text.[6]

Origin and owner

The Sharingan has its origin in the Rinne Sharingan, whose appearance with the red iris, three black rings around the pupil and three tomoes on each of the rings already strongly resembles the appearance of the Sharingan. Kaguya Ōtsutsuki, the mother of Rikudō Sennin, manifested this eye in a third eye socket in the middle of her forehead. She was able to use the powers of that eye to genjutsu entire nations.

The normal Sharingan with a ring and three tomoe first awoke in Kaguya's grandson Indra, the older son of Hagoromo Ōtsutsuki. It is not known why it differs from its grandmother's eye. After him it appeared years later on some members of the Uchiha clan. Since the entire clan of Itachi Uchiha was wiped out, there are only a few living people who own this dojutsu.

Apart from the members of the Uchiha clan, there are other Shinobi who have come into possession of one or more Sharingan in various ways. The most famous of them is arguably Kakashi Hatake, who wore it in his left eye socket after losing his own eye. He made himself out to be "Kakashi with the Sharingan" (写 輪 眼 の カ カ シ, "Sharingan no Kakashi") a name worldwide. However, Madara Uchiha Kakashi steals his eye in the Fourth Ninja World War and uses it herself. The original owner of the Sharingan was Kakashi's best friend, Obito Uchiha, who eventually received it from Madara in exchange for his Rinnegan. Kakashi is also the only shinobi outside of the Uchiha clan who managed to awaken the Mangekyō Sharingan. Another owner of several Sharingan is Danzō Shimura. He wears the Sharingan of Shisui Uchiha in his right eye socket and also has ten Sharingan on his right arm. He received this from the corpses of the Uchiha that Itachi killed in the massacre of his clan. Danzō can also access the Mangekyō Sharingan.

If a shinobi receives the Sharingan without being part of the Uchiha clan, they will not be able to disable the dojutsu. In addition, it consumes a lot of chakra due to the constant activation, which is why Kakashi and Danzo cover it up. If the original owner of the Sharingan is still alive, he will maintain some sort of connection to his eye and can sometimes see what it sees. This is also possible for the new owner. Furthermore, the eye can be transplanted into an animal. So did Itachi Uchiha with his crow and Shisui's right Mangekyō Sharingan.

In the Fourth Ninja World War, Sasuke Uchiha first awoke a Rinnegan in his left eye after he met Hagoromo Ōtsutsuki in his subconscious and received part of his powers from him.[7] It is similar in appearance to Kaguya's Rinne Sharingan, but has only six tomoe. The Rinne Sharingan with nine Tomoe forms shortly afterwards on Madara Uchiha's forehead. With this he is able to use Mugen Tsukuyomi.

Skills and Jutsu

The capabilities of the Sharingan are based on the interaction of its two components - the "Dōsatsugan" (洞察 眼, "Astute eye") and the "Saimingan" (催眠 眼, "Hypnosis eye").[8] So the wearer can see the chakra and its movements[9] and roughly distinguish it based on its color.[10] In addition, he can recognize whether a person is covered with a genjutsu, since then his chakra flow is disturbed.[9] Furthermore, sharingan allows the wearer to read lips[11] and to copy motion sequences, such as writing.[12] These skills improve as more tomoes are formed. The wearer can then see objects moving at high speed and eventually detect even the smallest muscle movements of their opponent. In this way, the attack pattern can be seen through and it is possible for the wearer to avoid attacks without much effort, should his body be able to react accordingly.

This has a number of side effects:

  • The user can immediately understand a technology he has seen once and, if he meets the necessary requirements, apply it himself. This means that some Hiden and Kekkei Genkai cannot generally be copied, as can natural jutsu, the nature of which the user cannot provide.
  • Another skill of the sharingan is its connection to genjutsu. It reinforces the illusions of the user and in turn makes it easier for them to escape hostile illusions. Experienced users of the Sharingan are able to control powerful beings like the Kyūbi with this power.


  • The Sharingan took eighth place in the hit list of the most popular techniques.
  • In the anime, one of Sasori's dolls has the Sharingan.