Is Norway a dictatorship

Politics in Norway

The Norwegian system of government

The Storting (Norwegian National Assembly) has been the highest political body in Norway since 1884. The Storting is re-elected every four years and forms the legislature in the Norwegian political system.

The state structure of Norway

The nine parties represented in Storting since the 2017 election are:

  • Arbeiderpartiet (Workers' Party / Social Democratic Party)
  • Høyre (Right / Conservative)
  • Fremskrittspartiet (progressive party / right-wing populist party)
  • Sosialistisk Venstreparti (Socialist Left Party)
  • Kristelig Folkeparti (Christian People's Party)
  • Senterpartiet (center party / interest representation of farmers)
  • Venstre (Left / Liberals)
  • Miljøpartiet De Grønne (Green Party)
  • Rødt (red; / communist)

A total of 169 men and women sit in parliament (Storting). Although from a legal point of view it consists of two parts (Odelsting and Lagting), the Storting is viewed as a unicameral system.

The executive power is the government. She brings bills and budget drafts to the Storting. The government is formed from the middle of the storting and is headed by the Prime Minister. The prime minister, the foreign minister and the finance minister accompany the government positions that receive the most attention.

The current government in Norway

At the moment the Labor Party (Arbeiderpartiet) and the Conservatives (Høyre) have the most seats in the Norwegian Parliament. In the last few years, Stortingsregjering (parliamentary governments) have been the main rulers, as there is no tradition of grand coalitions in Norway.

  • Prime Minister: Erna Solberg
  • Finance Minister: Jan Tore Sanner
  • Foreign Minister: Ine Marie Eriksen Søreide